#### **OPINION 1768**

# Taningia danae Joubin, 1931 (Mollusca, Cephalopoda): given precedence over Octopodoteuthis persica Naef, 1923

# Ruling

- (1) Under the plenary powers the specific name *danae* Joubin, 1931, as published in the binomen *Taningia danae*, is hereby given precedence over the specific name *persica* Naef, 1923, as published in the binomen *Octopodoteuthis persica*, whenever the two names are considered to be synonyms.
- (2) The name *Taningia* Joubin, 1931 (gender: feminine), type species by monotypy *Taningia danae* Joubin, 1931, is hereby placed on the Official List of Generic Names in Zoology.
- (3) The following names are hereby placed on the Official List of Specific Names in Zoology:
  - (a) danae Joubin, 1931, as published in the binomen Taningia danae (specific name of the type species of Taningia Joubin, 1931), with the endorsement that it is to be given precedence over persica Naef, 1923, as published in the binomen Octopodoteuthis persica, whenever the two names are considered to be synonyms;
  - (b) persica Naef, 1923, as published in the binomen Octopodoteuthis persica, with the endorsement that it is not to be given priority over danae Joubin, 1931, as published in the binomen Taningia danae, whenever the two names are considered to be synonyms.

# History of Case 2845

An application for the specific name of *Taningia danae* Joubin, 1931 to be given precedence over that of *Octopodoteuthis persica* Naef, 1923 was received from Drs Michael Vecchione (*National Marine Fisheries Service, National Museum of Natural History, Washington, D.C., U.S.A.*) and Clyde F.E. Roper (*National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C., U.S.A.*) on 9 March 1992. After correspondence the case was published in BZN 49: 261–263 (December 1992). Notice of the case was sent to appropriate journals.

Support for the application from Dr Malcolm R. Clarke (Newton Ferrers, Plymouth, Devon, U.K.) was noted in BZN 50: 141 (June 1993).

#### Decision of the Commission

On 1 December 1993 the members of the Commission were invited to vote on the proposals published in BZN 49: 262. At the close of the voting period on 1 March 1994 the votes were as follows:

Affirmative votes — 21: Bayer, Bock, Cocks, Cogger, Corliss, Hahn, Heppell, Holthuis, Kabata, Kraus, Macpherson, Mahnert, Martins de Souza, Minelli, Nielsen, Nye, Savage, Schuster, Trjapitzin, Uéno, Willink

Negative votes — 4: Bouchet, Starobogatov, Štys and Thompson.

No votes were received from Halvorsen and Lehtinen.

Dupuis and Ride were on leave of absence.

### Original references

The following are the original references to the names placed on Official Lists by the ruling given in the present Opinion:

danae, Taningia, Joubin, 1931, Annales de l'Institut Océanographique, 10: 181. persica, Octopodoteuthis, Naef, 1923, Fauna e Flora del Golfo di Napoli, 35(1,1): 337. Taningia Joubin, 1931, Annales de l'Institut Océanographique, 10: 181.